Death for Love

Posted: November 10, 2010 in writing

She had given me all the love she had in her heart. I wept tears of sorrow for I could not return her gift. As much as I wanted to love her back with all of my heart I could not. When I told her she could never be the one, she took me in her arms and held me close.

“Love who you will my precious man and I hope with all of my heart he will love you in return.” she quietly said.

I told her that I knew he loved me but I didn’t know if it was enough.

“I will give him the love I have for you to ensure his love for you will last an eternity.” she whispered.

She breathed one last deep breath and collapsed in my arms. She gave up her heart so he would love me. It was at that moment I knew I loved her. I realized then that she was not ‘the one’ but ‘one of the ones’. And I know I love her still.

Leave a Reply

